Oscars Ballot 2016

BEST PICTURE

I’d rank the nominees as:

  1. Brooklyn
  2. The Revenant
  3. Room
  4. Mad Max: Fury Road
  5. Bridge of Spies
  6. The Martian
  7. Spotlight
  8. The Big Short

However, keeping that same number of nominees, I’d lose those bottom 4 and add:

Likely Winner: This is a big toss-up, between The Revenant (who I’m rooting for), Spotlight, and I’m even hearing The Big Short. I think the tide is leaning more towards The Revenant though this is pretty much up for grabs between all three.

My Pick: Of the nominees, Brooklyn made the biggest impact on me though I really liked The Revenant as well. I’d be glad if either won.



BEST DIRECTOR

Likely Winner: Alejandro G. Iñárritu for The Revenant. He’s been gaining steam and this award is his to lose.

My Pick: I’d also vote for Iñárritu, but honorable mention for Lenny Abrahamson for Room. While I wasn’t in love with the movie overall, the first half gradually builds up into a really terrific moment – only a master could have created such an impact.



BEST ACTOR

Likely Winner: Leonardo DiCaprio for The Revenant

My Pick: Leonardo DiCaprio for The Revenant. My favorite Leo performance is probably The Wolf of Wall Street (which he should have won for), but he certainly gives it his all in this as well.


 

BEST ACTRESS

Likely Winner: Brie Larson for Room

My Pick: Charlotte Ramplin for 45 Years or Saoirse Ronan for Brooklyn. Both give subtle yet powerful performances, communicating complex and layered emotions through their restrained expressions alone.


 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Likely Winner: Sylvester Stallone for Creed

My Pick: I haven’t seen Creed, but from the performances I have seen I’d root for Tom Hardy in The Revenant. He almost steals the show from Leo as a truly despicable villain.


 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Likely Winner: Alicia Vikander for The Danish Girl or Kate Winslet for Steve Jobs. This one is a bit of a toss-up.

My Pick: I’m prejudiced because Ms. Vikander and I had a “moment;” she should be nominated and winning for Ex Machina but I’ll take this too!


 

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

Likely Winner: Spotlight, because writers love voting for themselves.

My Pick: Inside Out, which not only tells a great story but creates a profound, universal discourse about everyone‘s inner psychology – all within an efficient prologue. Terrifically layered and notoriously emotional, no movie dialogue was stronger this year than in Pixar’s masterpiece. I’d also be good with an Ex Machina win, for its engaging and nail-biting suspense between three twisted characters.


 

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

Likely Winner: The Big Short

My Pick: Brooklyn – I’m not familiar with the source material, but this period drama is heightened by its poetic script, particularly in Eilis’s heartfelt monologue in the finale.


 

What are your picks for Oscar night? Who should take home the gold? Reply below in the comments!

Leave a Reply

