Weekly Round-Up: November 22-28, 2015

Hope you all had a happy Thanksgiving (and Black Friday) week! I did a bit of traveling and got to enjoy some lazy movie time with the family last night.

  • Trainwreck (2015) – Amy Schumer gives a strong performance in this very raunchy romantic comedy about a woman struggling in a serious relationship. We get some funny moments (especially from LeBron James) but the narrative mostly falls flat. NOT RECOMMENDED.
  • Three Coins in the Fountain (1954) – Laughably out-of-touch romance about three American women in Italy looking for husbands. RECOMMENDED.
  • On the Town (1949) – Insane musical comedy about three  American sailors who have 24 hours in New York to see the sights and fall in love. Hi-jinks and several lousy songs ensue. NOT RECOMMENDED.

What did you see last week?

3 thoughts on “Weekly Round-Up: November 22-28, 2015

  1. I keep thinking I should keep track of all the films I see. Your Weekly Roundup is a great idea, esp with the one-sentence summary + Rec or Not Rec tag.

    I watched The Maltese Falcon with the hubs last night, who’d never seen it. Much enjoyment was had. RECOMMENDED. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely recommend it! I’d gotten the idea a few years ago but didn’t actually commit to it until 2015. It’s been so much fun to log, and it’s a lot of fun to look back at. Maybe a 2016 resolution for you? 🙂

      And absolutely! The Maltese Falcon is great. I love that era of film when Sydney Greenstreet is in literally EVERYTHING.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hate resolutions because they are so destined to be broken, but I’ll definitely make a promise to myself and my blog 🙂

        Greenstreet is fun, too, on radio as Nero Wolfe. But apparently was hard to work with!

        Cheers.

        Like

Leave a Reply

